Student Worker Solidarity

Thu, Nov 6, 2014, 11:46pm
Updated, Nov. 7, 4:45 p.m.: 
Wed, Oct 1, 2014, 1:39am
After some attempts to lower the high temperature in the kitchen of John Jay Dining Hall last semester, Columbia Dining is still searching for a permanent fix to the ongoing heat problem.
Mon, Feb 10, 2014, 3:34am
For a better activism, we need to be more pragmatic and respectful of our causes.
Fri, Oct 11, 2013, 2:00am
After student activists announced Wednesday night that temperatures in the John Jay Dining Hall had been lowered, the administration said they were moving forward with more reforms.
Thu, Oct 10, 2013, 3:15am
Student Worker Solidarity reported Wednesday that the hot temperatures in the kitchen of John Jay Dining Hall have been temporarily cooled.
Mon, Oct 7, 2013, 8:03pm
The John Jay dining hall renovations neglected to take into account the safety and health of workers.
Thu, Oct 3, 2013, 3:29am
On Tuesday, members of Student Worker Solidarity submitted a petition with over 1,100 signatures to Vicki Dunn, executive director of dining services, calling for the installation of more effective ventilation in the working areas of the dining hall.
Mon, May 13, 2013, 12:00am
A union contract negotiation grew into a campuswide debate after student activists organized a massive effort to support Faculty House workers this semester.
Sat, Apr 6, 2013, 10:37pm
The University Senate failed to vote Friday on a resolution that would effectively ban smoking on the Morningside Heights campus because too few senators attended the plenary to meet quorum.
Fri, Mar 29, 2013, 4:21am
The lawsuit claims that Columbia is violating New York labor law, which outlaws employers keeping any percentage of tips.

Pages