school of the arts

Wed, Oct 7, 2015, 10:37pm
Prentis Hall—located on 125th Street and home to the Computer Music Center and part of the School of the Arts—has been hit by three major water disasters over the past five weeks, costing the University nearly $20,000, damaging student work, and resulting in class cancellations.
Tue, Apr 14, 2015, 10:43pm
Columbia alum Frédéric Tcheng, director of “Dior and I,” shares insights about his time at Columbia and his filmmaking.
Wed, Feb 11, 2015, 12:32am
“Sun and Room” displays college life in a microcosm, chronicling the misadventures of three friends in a single night at an unattended party.
Wed, Jan 28, 2015, 11:33pm
Patrice Aphrodite Helmar’s, SoA ’15, Neiman Gallery show “Born Into This” extends beyond photography, exploring humanity and the traces it leaves behind.
Wed, Apr 30, 2014, 4:07am
As a self-regulating community of teachers and scholars, the University should strive to embrace the many who are talented but under-represented artists.
Fri, Apr 25, 2014, 4:39am
A year of celebrations will honor James Baldwin’s work and legacy with readings, performances, panels, and a street renaming.
Tue, Dec 3, 2013, 2:31am
Two SoA alums are in the spotlight of a new play opening downtown.
Mon, Nov 18, 2013, 7:18pm
The Visual Arts Open House displayed artists at very different stages and paths in their careers, with no clear unifying thread except their affiliation with Columbia.
Thu, Oct 3, 2013, 2:52am
An MFA candidate at the School of the Arts has an exhibit on display that's inspired by Bill Murray.
Thu, Feb 7, 2013, 12:28pm
Beginning in the fall of 2013, the Computer Music Center at Columbia University (CMC), in partnership with the Department of Music and the School of the Arts, will offer an MFA in Sound Art.