Restaurants

Sun, May 11, 2014, 4:41pm
Over the past year, a lot has changed in the neighborhood food scene, with longtime staples leaving and new occupants taking root.
Thu, Apr 24, 2014, 4:36am
A laundromat-cafe just opened in the East Village. Julie Moon explains the hybridization of cafes.
Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 11:25pm
More and more restaurants are replacing tips with service charges or higher wages. Andrea Chan explains what’s wrong with tipping and why this shift is important.
Wed, Feb 19, 2014, 4:01pm
Locals and students showed up to welcome Dig Inn to the neighborhood Wednesday, with some of the day’s proceeds benefiting FoodFight NYC, which works to implement health and wellness curricula in local schools.
Fri, Feb 7, 2014, 6:20am
Ost Café hits the Lower East Side after growing a customer base in the East Village.
Thu, Jan 2, 2014, 6:27pm
After changing its name from Vareli to Domain in September 2013, the restaurant, on Broadway between 112th and 113th streets, is back to its old name.
Fri, Oct 4, 2013, 1:23am
In one West Harlem building, diners are sampling coconut sticky rice and ahi tuna at the new high-end restaurant The Cecil. Next month, they’ll be enjoying dulcet tunes at Minton’s Playhouse, an upscale revival of a jazz landmark that was the birthplace of bebop. 
Mon, Sep 9, 2013, 11:50pm
Domain, the restaurant now in Vareli's place, offers superb—but pricey—fare.
Tue, Sep 3, 2013, 8:41pm
The longtime eatery shut down in July when the lease expired.
Mon, Nov 19, 2012, 11:24pm
Not everyone can go home to a home-cooked meal this Thanksgiving, but New York has plenty of delicious alternatives for those sticking around who don’t want to cook.

Pages