obituary

Sun, Dec 7, 2014, 11:09pm
Whether he was leading a Columbia Queer Alliance meeting, speaking at his high school graduation, or sending silly Snapchats to friends, Joshua Villa, CC ’18, approached life with positivity and compassion, friends and family said in interviews this weekend.
Fri, Oct 17, 2014, 1:57am
Colleagues remember Columbia Advising Dean Dahlia Adu-Peasah as a generous person with a strong sense of adventure.
Sun, Sep 21, 2014, 7:05pm
The body of Jonathan Tang, Physicians and Surgeons ’16, was found dead Sunday morning in a pond in upstate New York after he fell into the water Saturday afternoon. Tang was 24.
Fri, Aug 15, 2014, 9:45pm
David Rosand, CC ’59, GSAS ’62, and GSAS ’65, a longtime Columbia professor who chaired the art history and archaeology department for seven years, died on August 8. He was 75.
Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 12:07am
Al Paul, Director of Athletics at Columbia during the creation of the Columbia-Barnard Athletic consortium, died Monday at 88.
Tue, Jul 1, 2014, 12:27pm
Andrew Hamilton, GS ’13, who had been heavily involved in the Philolexian Society and various on-campus theater groups, died in New York City on June 24.
Thu, Jun 5, 2014, 8:00pm
Colleagues remember Morton Friedman, a longtime professor and former vice dean at the School of Engineering and Applied Science, as a mentor and a repository of knowledge about Columbia.
Mon, Mar 24, 2014, 6:24pm
Harmeet Singh Sohal, GS, has died, School of General Studies Dean of Students Tom Harford announced in an email to students on Monday.
Fri, Feb 28, 2014, 6:06am
Colleagues and students remember Becker as an adventurous learner and an effective teacher. He was 53.
Fri, Feb 14, 2014, 1:44am
Oladapo Atitebi, CC ’11, known to friends as an avid Sherlock Holmes fan, “terrific dancer,” supporter of the Manchester United Football Club, and former secretary and webmaster of Columbia University African Students Association, died on Feb. 10 at the age of 24.

Pages