Literature Humanities

Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 4:18am
To the editor:
Sun, Nov 15, 2015, 11:55pm
Though the Core Curriculum is filled with works and ideas far disconnected from modern understanding, they still unite and inform us. The “dead white men” whom most of the Core focuses on did not write for a diverse modern readership, but their ideas still help define the ‘human experience.’
Mon, Oct 19, 2015, 1:49am
We should change the ways in which we overconfidently categorize human identities today—especially when we discuss people from the past.
Sat, Jun 6, 2015, 5:41pm
The updated Literature Humanities syllabus was just released, and on it came several changes that were rumored to be in the works earlier this year, both in
Tue, Nov 11, 2014, 9:20pm
Bearden reimagines Homer’s epic to depict the African American journey in “Black Odyssey.”  
Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 3:13am
Tentatively scheduled for the first week of April, CCSC members said they want to build the each day around a different Core Curriculum class.
Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 8:32pm
Greater depth could help to improve the Core Curriculum, which is currently hampered by its ambitious breadth.
Sun, Apr 27, 2014, 10:35pm
It turns out that there’s always a person or two who can teach you something new, who loves the same things as you but approaches them differently.
Thu, Apr 24, 2014, 7:52pm
Luke Foster on why we should appreciate Columbia for more than the opportunities it creates.
Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 9:54pm
Rather than interpreting “identity” and “community” through texts, what if we were to project our own experiences toward these questions directly?