Debora Spar

Thu, Jun 4, 2015, 11:02am
Barnard will admit trans women, starting with the class of 2020.
Wed, Jun 3, 2015, 11:31am
Today, the Barnard board of trustees is expected to vote on what is currently a hot-button issue: admission of transgender students. In February, Barnard president Debora Spar announced th
Wed, Apr 8, 2015, 6:09am
As Barnard moves toward a possibly historic decision on trans admissions, what is at stake for the college?
Thu, Mar 12, 2015, 2:20pm
President Debora Spar sent an email to Barnard students this morning after a debriefing of the college’s response to the fire in 600 last week.
Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 3:05am
At the last in a series of town halls to discuss Barnard’s trans admissions policy, Barnard President Debora Spar said that members of the board of trustees hope to discuss the school’s trans admissions policy at the March meeting and vote on the potential changes at the June meeting.
Thu, Jan 22, 2015, 3:32am
Barnard President Debora Spar announced last week that the forums on Barnard’s transgender admissions policy would not be open to the press or external audiences—including Columbia students—leaving some students and faculty frustrated with the limitations. 
Sun, Dec 14, 2014, 11:25pm
Q, Barnard’s LGBTQ group, unveiled a photo campaign in support of a trans-inclusive Barnard on its website on Sunday.
Thu, Dec 11, 2014, 4:15pm
Barnard President Debora Spar announced in an email on Thursday that Barnard will host four community-wide town halls on trans admissions in January and February.
Thu, Dec 4, 2014, 1:56am
Freedom of speech and expression is not a privilege confined to comfortable territories and spaces, but a right.
Wed, Dec 3, 2014, 12:48am
On Monday evening, Barnard President Debora Spar delivered the opening remarks at an event, titled “Race, Violence, Resistance: From Gaza to Ferguson,” hosted by Columbia Students for Justice in Palestine. Curiously, Spar mentioned neither Gaza nor Ferguson in her remarks.

Pages