Black Theatre Ensemble

Sun, Aug 24, 2014, 9:23pm
Whether you’re a theater lover or an aspiring actor, here are ways to see and be part of theater on campus.
Tue, May 20, 2014, 5:18pm
Throughout her time at Columbia, Bintu Conteh, CC ’14, found a place in the University’s theater community—on- and offstage.
Sun, May 11, 2014, 3:07pm
This year’s campus theater in review.
Thu, Apr 24, 2014, 2:57am
The two theater groups are coming together to bring a musical about race and self-discovery to the stage.
Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 4:01am
Members of the “Passing Strange” creative team discuss how the original script of the show allowed for freedom and improvisation in their creation of choreography and music.
Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 3:01am
“Passing Strange” costume designer, Becca Guthrie, BC ’16, shares her vision for the look of the upcoming show and gives colorful sneak peek at some of the costume pieces audience members will see next week.
Tue, Apr 8, 2014, 1:48am
Spectator recently sat down with Julian Wright CC ’17 and Dylan Jones CC ’16 to discuss their roles in “Passing Strange.” Most cast members play multiple roles over the course of the show while Wright and Jones play “Youth” and “Mother,” respectively, for the entirety of the production. 
Thu, Apr 3, 2014, 5:01am
This spring, the Columbia Musical Theatre Society and the Black Theatre Ensemble are teaming up for the first time to produce the blues-rock musical “Passing Strange,” which follows an African American man's journey of self discovery.
Thu, Oct 31, 2013, 4:08am
As an 18-year-old still forming her identity and searching for answers about her racially ambiguous heritage, Bulrusher encounters a black woman from Alabama who forces her to reconsider herself and society.
Mon, Apr 30, 2012, 6:34am
THe Black Theatre Ensemble stages Rebecca Nicholson and Mae Smith's one-act plays in its Spring Festival.