Fri, Nov 13, 2015, 3:55am
Being a student activist is exhausting. There just aren’t enough hours in the day for homework, organizing, and mobilizing. We stay up later, wake up earlier, shift our schedules around a little more. But it’s never enough.
Thu, Nov 12, 2015, 6:27am
A year after the Carry That Weight Day of Action, Spectator investigates the merit of activist art, and the intersection between art and tangible political change.
Sun, Nov 8, 2015, 6:04pm
Student activists protested a lack of transparency in the appointment process for the new University Judicial Board.
Fri, Nov 6, 2015, 5:00am
Suzanne Goldberg, special advisor to the president on issues of sexual assault, has now been appointed to another significant role.
Fri, Sep 25, 2015, 3:55am
I want to begin my semester of plastering my perspective across Columbia’s broadsheet by making a simple recommendation to all students, incoming and returning: get involved, hopefully politically.
Wed, Sep 16, 2015, 10:18pm
As the Coalition Against Sexual Violence struggles to resume its advocacy work under new leadership, No Red Tape has taken the helm of the movement, with an increasingly radical ideology that is alienating students both in and out of the group.
Thu, Sep 10, 2015, 9:01pm
While full fossil fuel divestment remains Columbia Divest for Climate Justice’s ultimate goal, the group is considering narrowing its petition to coal divestment as an incremental strategy to speed up trustee action.
Mon, Apr 13, 2015, 4:57am
While prospective students moved between events during Sunday’s Days on Campus programming, No Red Tape projected phrases like “Rape happens here” and “Columbia protects rapists” onto Low Library.
Thu, Mar 12, 2015, 5:25am
Rikki Novetsky investigates how the mainstream and radical left drive discourse on a largely liberal campus.
Wed, Feb 25, 2015, 2:35am
Darializa Avila-Chevalier struggles to keep the Spanish of her childhood separate from her highly political present.