Academics

Thu, May 1, 2014, 7:14pm
Abby Mitchell on maintaining a healthy balance between Spectator, social, and academic life.
Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 9:10pm
Kevin Bi on how and why we need to bridge the artificial divide between art and science in undergraduate education.
Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 3:59am
In this week's lead story, Suze Myers explores the pros and cons of studying visual arts at a school like Columbia or Barnard, and what an art degree from one of these schools might mean.
Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 9:54pm
Rather than interpreting “identity” and “community” through texts, what if we were to project our own experiences toward these questions directly?
Tue, Apr 15, 2014, 7:29pm
Grade inflation might be nice for your résumé but not for your attitude.
Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 5:03am
If the University were to add a course devoted to questions of identity, gender, and bias, the College would not only engage an untapped branch of historical and philosophical thinking, but in doing so, Columbia College would also challenge its own history.
Thu, Apr 3, 2014, 1:04am
A proposal for the myriad complaints Columbia College students have about Frontiers of Science.
Wed, Apr 2, 2014, 3:40am
With the Association for Core Texts and Courses, the three schools will host two week-long conferences titled “Core Curricula in the Research University: Challenges and Prospects” in June—one at Columbia and one at Yale.
Thu, Mar 27, 2014, 4:06am
Joshua Fattal discusses the many religious communities on campus and how they interact with Columbia’s academics and campus culture.
Mon, Mar 24, 2014, 2:00am
The website, gradesatcu.com, allows students to see what percentage of a class received A-range grades during previous semesters by drawing on student-reported data from Columbia College transcripts.

Pages