Rationalizing the Irrational

Leo Schwartz is a Columbia College senior majoring in political science and Latin American studies. Rationalizing the Irrational runs alternate Mondays.

 

By Leo Schwartz
Sun, May 4, 2014, 11:14pm

Leo Schwartz reflects on the Core, thoughts that transcend time, and the universality of the Columbia and human experiences.

By Leo Schwartz
Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 6:46pm
Remembering the privilege of a Columbia education and our duty to aid the rest of the world.
By Leo Schwartz
Sun, Apr 6, 2014, 6:18pm

Leo Schwartz thinks about his past few years writing for Spec, and the selfish nature of the column as a project.

By Leo Schwartz
Sun, Mar 23, 2014, 11:13pm

Leo Schwartz on embracing the unoriginal New York experience—loving, and hating it.

By Leo Schwartz
Sun, Mar 2, 2014, 11:11pm

In today's TV, we can pretend to be consumers of the thought-provoking.

By Leo Schwartz
Sun, Feb 16, 2014, 5:23pm

We need to avoid self-destructive coping mechanisms as we approach graduation.

By Leo Schwartz
Mon, Feb 3, 2014, 1:47am

If we remove people from our discussion by preventing them from joining our arguments, we commit an injustice to ourselves.

By Leo Schwartz
Thu, Dec 5, 2013, 8:14pm

As we come of age, we realize that our experiences aren't as novel as we may have once felt. True meaning in life comes from our relationships.

By Leo Schwartz
Thu, Nov 21, 2013, 9:43pm

There's got to be more to post-grad life than being part of the 87 percent of people who are unfulfilled in a boring job.

By Leo Schwartz
Thu, Nov 7, 2013, 7:50pm

We compromise our young ideals by settling for routine in an unfulfilling post-graduate life.

By Leo Schwartz
Fri, Oct 25, 2013, 4:11am

Our identity is influenced by many factors, not always apparent on the surface.

By Leo Schwartz
Fri, Oct 11, 2013, 1:44am

Our identities should not restrict our ability to participate in campus discourse.

By Leo Schwartz
Thu, Sep 26, 2013, 8:53pm

We may all be a little more privileged than we think.

By Leo Schwartz
Fri, Sep 13, 2013, 1:24am

College is a concentrated experience where we spend every moment together, and everyone is looking for the same escape from the loneliness of transition.

By Leo Schwartz
Thu, May 2, 2013, 9:57pm

The endless tortures leading up to graduation are a tragic fact of senior life.

By Leo Schwartz
Thu, Apr 18, 2013, 7:54pm

Absence makes the heart fonder, fostering appreciation through perspective.

By Leo Schwartz
Fri, Apr 5, 2013, 2:23am

We need to gain perspective to truly appreciate other cultures.

By Leo Schwartz
Thu, Mar 7, 2013, 10:22pm

A clear night sky conveys the impossibility of infinity that is both humbling and terrifying.

By Leo Schwartz
Thu, Feb 21, 2013, 11:44pm

Getting outside our comfort zone makes us appreciate everyday moments more.

By Leo Schwartz
Fri, Feb 8, 2013, 2:32am

Taking a trip out of the ordered and familiar is something we all need to do.

By Leo Schwartz
Thu, Jan 24, 2013, 9:04pm

Welcoming the unfamiliar

By Leo Schwartz
Thu, Dec 6, 2012, 7:48pm

Reflections on reflections.

By Leo Schwartz
Wed, Nov 28, 2012, 8:21pm

How important is it really to sail uncharted waters?

By Leo Schwartz
Wed, Nov 14, 2012, 7:30pm

The state of limbo between existentialism and productivity for Columbia students.

By Leo Schwartz
Wed, Oct 31, 2012, 7:57pm

What we can do to help allieve our financial burdens in paying our tuition.

By Leo Schwartz
Wed, Oct 3, 2012, 7:19pm

Social networking has changed the way students interact with their friends and acquaintances.

By Leo Schwartz
Wed, Sep 19, 2012, 7:02pm

Figuring out our existential crisises begins with self-reflection.

By Leo Schwartz
Wed, Sep 5, 2012, 7:31pm

The learning we do outside of class may be the learning that matters.

By Leo Schwartz
Wed, Aug 29, 2012, 11:54am

None of us should have to play the "I am fine" game.

By Leo Schwartz
Wed, Apr 25, 2012, 7:52pm

Our generation needs a voice.

By Leo Schwartz
Wed, Apr 11, 2012, 7:27pm

Columbia culture forces us to give up self-fulfillment.

By Leo Schwartz
Sun, Mar 25, 2012, 6:10pm

Let's not look to online comment boards as representations of campus views.

By Leo Schwartz
Sun, Mar 4, 2012, 5:49pm

We need the moderate voice when discussing the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

By Leo Schwartz
Sun, Feb 19, 2012, 5:45pm

In defense of political incorrectness.

By Leo Schwartz
Sun, Feb 5, 2012, 5:55pm

We need to look at issues for their reason—not for their espousal of faith.

By Leo Schwartz
Sun, Jan 22, 2012, 7:08pm

Growing up is hard to define, but college is part of the process.