Opinion

Columns

+
Oct 21, 2014, 1:39 AM

Someone’s “biological clock” should not be a concern for his or her academic adviser.

Oct 19, 2014, 5:44 PM

“Return on investment” at Columbia should manifest itself as the future ability to give back.

Oct 16, 2014, 1:55 AM

We must lay aside our cynicism in order to engage in the beauty of meaningful conversation.

Oct 16, 2014, 1:55 AM

In the midst of a midterm-induced stress-tornado, it’s important that we remind ourselves of why we chose Columbia as a home.

Op-eds

+
Oct 17, 2014, 1:18 AM

Under the current Rules of University Conduct, students can only choose between two evils: a flawed external arbitration process or Dean’s Discipline .

Oct 16, 2014, 1:59 AM

Columbia disappointed us by failing to actively promote discourse on Columbus Day.

Oct 16, 2014, 1:55 AM

Columbus Day has aspects that are worth celebrating.

Oct 14, 2014, 8:23 PM

Whether Jamie Boothe killed President Lincoln or not, students should judge the intellectual importance and value of his argument instead of wasting time on the pointless speculations.

Staff editorials

+
Oct 21, 2014, 2:22 AM

The integrity of the Rules Town Hall suffered from means that were at best questionable.

Oct 14, 2014, 1:12 AM

Columbia needs to facilitate more alumni-student interaction.

Oct 9, 2014, 12:49 AM

Student-parents are not properly supported by the University.

Oct 7, 2014, 12:01 AM

The Columbia Design Challenge’s interschool effort to fight the Ebola outbreak is the best way for the University to show the world what it has to offer.

The Canon

+
Oct 13, 2014, 6:11 AM

What does it mean that Columbia doesn’t celebrate Columbus Day?

Sep 25, 2014, 7:15 AM

 

This week's Scope asks: How do we interact socially through digital mediums at Columbia?

Sep 12, 2014, 12:40 AM

Culture shock at Columbia from four different perspectives: a transfer student, an international student, a nontraditional student, and a student from Nebraska.

Apr 30, 2014, 4:29 AM

In this week’s Canon, we asked our contributors: Is Columbia a corporation?

Letters to the editor

+
Oct 21, 2014, 12:47 AM

Alumni organizations are working to create events and groups to facilitate exchange and collaboration with students.

Oct 19, 2014, 5:47 PM

Ben Jealous, CC ’94, and former president and CEO of the NAACP encourages the University to strive for justice and amend the Rules of University Conduct.

Oct 17, 2014, 1:01 AM

Spectator's reporting on the most recent Academic Curricular Review misrepresented what actually happened.

Oct 10, 2014, 1:35 AM

Columbia should do better than Walmart and pay its employees more.