Deborah Secular

Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 8:04am
 According to a Spectator analysis, of the retail properties that have been vacant on Broadway, Amsterdam, and Morningside Avenues between 106th Street and 124th Street in the past five years, 64 percent were vacant for longer than a year. Forty-four percent were vacant for longer than two.
Tue, Apr 14, 2015, 1:30am
A longstanding plan to transform a storefront on Old Broadway into a crisis intervention center is finally coming together.    
Sun, Mar 22, 2015, 11:44am
A shooting at 104th and Columbus Avenue at 1:12 a.m Sunday morning is still under investigation.
Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 11:48pm
No students have been injured in an ongoing fire at a Barnard dorm at 116th Street and Broadway, according to New York Fire Department officials.
Tue, Feb 10, 2015, 2:55pm
A plan aimed at diversifying West Harlem schools would do away with zoning.
Fri, Dec 12, 2014, 11:57pm
After two discussions on recent grand jury decisions this week, students criticized the lag time between the start of the national protests and Columbia’s response to the issue.
Thu, Dec 4, 2014, 1:42am
The nearly 500-strong group was partly broken up after a convoy of cops, bearing batons and zip ties, penned protesters on Amsterdam Avenue between 112th and 114th streets. 
Wed, Nov 19, 2014, 10:18pm
A burst pipe on 125th Street and Broadway on Tuesday morning caused a geyser-like stream of water high enough to brush the bottom of the 1 train tracks.
Mon, Nov 10, 2014, 12:02am
Columbia students and neighborhood residents are calling for increased resources for the issues facing young residents of the Grant and Manhattanville Houses.
Fri, Nov 7, 2014, 12:34am
Known as the School Renewal Program, the plan will transform 94 city schools into “community schools,” with increased participation from families and community partners.

Pages