Chris Browner

Mon, Dec 14, 2015, 4:49pm
The Metropolitan Opera used a dynamite cast to elucidate the artistic mastery of the underappreciated piece.
Fri, Dec 11, 2015, 4:15am
Drawing on his groundbreaking work as a visual artist, South African director William Kentridge uses animated projections to elucidate the frenzy of “Lulu.”
Mon, Sep 28, 2015, 11:28pm
Despite some polished performances, ‘Otello’ suffered from a lack of robust direction and adaptation.
Thu, Nov 20, 2014, 2:19am
The Met Opera’s production of “The Barber of Seville” dazzles with a blend of comic hijinks and masterful singing.  
Thu, Nov 13, 2014, 5:55am
The Met Opera presents director Graham Vick’s surreal production of Dmitri Shostakovich’s “Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk,” an opera dripping with sex, strength, and satire.
Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 1:14am
The Metropolitan Opera debuted John Adams’ “The Death of Klinghoffer” Monday night despite heated protests surrounding the premiere.
Thu, Oct 9, 2014, 12:17am
Chris Browning reviews Julie Taymor's production of “The Magic Flute” at the Met.  
Thu, Sep 25, 2014, 5:45am
Half-baked direction casts a pall over the stellar singing in Mozart’s classic.
Fri, Apr 25, 2014, 3:48am
Chris Browner is entertained by the Met's playful production of Rossini's "La Cenerentola," a comic opera to provide some light escapism during finals season.
Fri, Apr 11, 2014, 5:38am
Chris Browner is disappointed by the Met's sub par rendering of "Madama Butterfly," which should have been a classic, but accessible opera.