Chris Browner

Thu, Nov 20, 2014, 2:19am
The Met Opera’s production of “The Barber of Seville” dazzles with a blend of comic hijinks and masterful singing.  
Thu, Nov 13, 2014, 5:55am
The Met Opera presents director Graham Vick’s surreal production of Dmitri Shostakovich’s “Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk,” an opera dripping with sex, strength, and satire.
Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 1:14am
The Metropolitan Opera debuted John Adams’ “The Death of Klinghoffer” Monday night despite heated protests surrounding the premiere.
Thu, Oct 9, 2014, 12:17am
Chris Browning reviews Julie Taymor's production of “The Magic Flute” at the Met.  
Thu, Sep 25, 2014, 5:45am
Half-baked direction casts a pall over the stellar singing in Mozart’s classic.
Fri, Apr 25, 2014, 3:48am
Chris Browner is entertained by the Met's playful production of Rossini's "La Cenerentola," a comic opera to provide some light escapism during finals season.
Fri, Apr 11, 2014, 5:38am
Chris Browner is disappointed by the Met's sub par rendering of "Madama Butterfly," which should have been a classic, but accessible opera.
Fri, Mar 28, 2014, 5:05am
Opera newcomers shine in the Metropolitan Opera’s production of Puccini’s classic.
Fri, Feb 21, 2014, 4:53am
Chris Browner is thoroughly impressed by "Werther," the latest show of the season at the Metropolitan Opera.
Fri, Feb 14, 2014, 4:47am
Chris Browner is satisfied, if not blown away, by the Met's latest and lengthiest Russian opera.

Pages