Alexandra Lake

Mon, Nov 14, 2016, 11:17pm
The Eye talks to professor Gil Eyal about a decade of changes in Columbia’s sociology department. Technology has impacted research and teaching, while shifts in campus discourse have made gender and diversity concerns for faculty members and students alike.
Mon, Oct 17, 2016, 9:40pm
Dance groups at Columbia fuse cultural styles for a variety of reasons, ranging from artistic curiosity to concern with audience engagement. Yet even so, they find they are able to maintain a sense of their own cultural identity.
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 3:13am
Columbia can be a great resource for some student-entrepreneurs competing in the Columbia Venture Competition, but it can also be neutral force or even a burden for others. Depending upon a myriad of factors, the University can help or hinder a company’s success after winning.  
Wed, Mar 23, 2016, 4:05am
Columbia students and professors discuss the concept of a flâneur and how exploring the city differs between Paris and New York.
Tue, Feb 2, 2016, 11:12pm
Language can reveal a lot about culture and history.
Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 2:18am
For some students, finding their place on campus after a medical leave of absence means not only returning to the campus where they were sick but also shaping its discourse for the better.
Wed, Oct 7, 2015, 3:35am
Military veterans reflect on how war literature parallels the way they see their own experiences.  
Thu, Sep 25, 2014, 5:50am
Abraham.In.Motion presents four works over two programs titled “The Watershed” and “When the Wolves Came In” at New York Live Arts.
Thu, Apr 24, 2014, 2:56am
Four plays and various other offerings will be on display in Minor Latham Playhouse for the festival.
Wed, Feb 26, 2014, 9:49pm
A legal battle between artist-vendors and the city of New York is raging.

Pages