View From Here

Wed, Feb 26, 2014, 9:33pm
Anna Pawl writes about her sister's run-in with a group of high school pranksters armed with cups of urine.
Thu, Feb 20, 2014, 1:41am
What an Orthodox Jewish matchmaker and a teen-movie blind date taught one girl about the pressure to find a husband.
Thu, Feb 13, 2014, 12:18am
I could see why the Strand thought its Rare Books Room might make for a good first date.
Thu, Feb 6, 2014, 3:58am
 I woke up sweaty, my mind bleary. My skin felt taut, caged by an exoskeleton of salt spray. Sand stuck to my face.
Thu, Jan 30, 2014, 4:55am
 “So you wanna quit,” mom said. “You wanna drop out. Move home.” I looked down at my hands, picked up my fork, and pushed the Thanksgiving leftovers around my plate.
Thu, Dec 5, 2013, 12:00am
 In high school I had a teacher, Ted Munter, who taught me to ask the question: What is “art”? As I expressed interest in literature and becoming a writer, Ted exposed me to authors of contemporary fiction whose prose attempted something beyond the simple story.
Wed, Nov 13, 2013, 10:31pm
We were driving back from a family dinner at a posh Los Angeles restaurant, the kind whose clientele doesn’t dare to touch the breadbaskets.
Thu, Nov 7, 2013, 12:11am
Hot like a love affair in the desert, baked scents wafted like wind behind a swift Arabian prince. I could not resist them. Little did I know that those rolls of fresh challah would be life-changing—and not just because they introduced my virgin taste buds to something unknown.
Wed, Oct 30, 2013, 9:34pm
When I was six years old, for a few glorious hours, my hair looked just like Matilda’s.
Wed, Oct 23, 2013, 10:14pm
 

Pages